John Coltrane The Classic Albums Collection 4 CDs

  • $25.00
    Unit price per 

Born September 23, 1926 John Coltrane was an American jazz saxophonist and composer. Working in the bebop and hard bop idioms early in his career, Coltrane helped pioneer the use of modes and was at the forefront of free jazz. He led at least fifty recording sessions and appeared on many albums by other musicians, including trumpeter Miles Davis and pianist Thelonious Monk. Over the course of his career, Coltrane's music took on an increasingly spiritual dimension, as exemplified on his most acclaimed albums A Love Supreme (1965) and Ascension (1966). He remains one of the most influential saxophonists in music history. He received numerous posthumous awards, including a Pulitzer Prize in 2007, and was canonized by the African Orthodox Church. This extraordinary collection features eight of John Coltrane's most cherished and popular albums, all from the era when the great man's star shined brightest. A fine selection of his best ever work, all now housed on 4 CDs, this set will work equally well for new converts to Coltrane's music as it will as a welcome reminder for those already hooked.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

1 Blue Train
2 Moment's Notice
3 Locomotion
4 I'm Old Fashioned
5 Lazy Bird
6 Giant Steps
7 Cousin Mary
8 Countdown
9 Spiral
10 Syeeda's Song Flute
11 Naima
12 Mr. P.C

Disc: 2

1 Little Old Lady
2 Village Blues
3 My Shining Hour
4 Fifth House
5 Harmonique
6 Like Sonny
7 I'll Wait and Pray
8 Some Other Blues
9 My Favorite Things
10 Everytime We Say Goodbye
11 Summertime
12 But Not for Me

Disc: 3

1 Olé
2 Dahomey Dance
3 Aisha
4 Africa
5 Greensleeves
6 Blues Minor

Disc: 4

1 Out of This World
2 Soul Eyes
3 The Inch Worm
4 Tunji
5 Miles' Mode
6 Say It (Over and Over Again)
7 You Don't Know What Love Is
8 Too Young to Go Steady
9 All or Nothing at All
10 I Wish I Knew
11 What's New?
12 It's Easy to Remember
13 Nancy (With the Laughing Face)

We Also Recommend